Farmer John

T.C.F.<br>(tire changin' fool)
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 8, 2000
Originally posted by Fe_princess
You don't have to be an expert about anything to work at cycle gear.

Now that HAS to be one of the funniest/sadest things I have ever seen on the internet. :think:

firecracker22

Sponsoring Member
Oct 23, 2000
Originally posted by Farmer John
Now that HAS to be one of the funniest/sadest things I have ever seen on the internet.
I don't think so. I've worked at a bike shop before and while I understand how to crash a bike, I'm no mechanic. An involvement in the sport or enthusiasm for the sport is all that's needed. Cycle Gear doesn't sell many internal engine parts like you would get at the dealer, just aftermarket stuff (to my knowledge anyway) so you wouldn't need to know specs for the last 15 years' worth of motocrossers and trail machines. Plus, the bulk of their sales that I've seen is accessories and gear--which doesn't require technical knowledge at all. You pick up pretty quick which items have what kind of features to help the customer pick what they want. Plus, what mechanical knowledge is helpful when selling tires, pipes, grips, bars and tripleclamps, etc. is the kind you pick up quickly also. Even at a dealership, most parts-finding software is fairly self-explanatory, especially the new Windows-based systems, so even a mechanical spode like me can help a customer find the right part unless it's a complicated question.

Besides, both male and female customers like seeing women work in the industry--women because we find a new kindred spirit, and men because they ALL like to look at women.

So I don't think that's a funny or sad comment at all.

Now don't get me started on how the same statement applies to the AUTO parts industry . . . :think:

GETMETOCA

Can't Wait For Tuesdays
Mar 17, 2002

Now that HAS to be one of the funniest/sadest things I have ever seen on the internet. :think: