allmud13

Feb 8, 2010
hey everyone im new to the bike scene

i just bought a 1996 DR200 to work on in my spare time. It pretty much needs to be completely taken apart and cleaned up and some stuff needs to be replaced. I know the engine turns over so i think thats not a problem area. I know i have to get a new started solenoid and rewire just about everything. What else should i look for so that I can make sure everything works properly and wont get messed up later. Thanks

YZ__rider

Jan 16, 2010
Just because the engine turns over doesnt mean the engine is good. Ive done what you are about to attempt...my advise would be to buy a bike that runs. You can buy that same bike (that runs and needs minimal repair) on Craigslist all day for $800-$1000. You will likely spend alot of time and money on that bike by the time you are done...probably more than it is worth.

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana
All dirt bikes are money pits. I have known VERY few people in near 40 years, who have ACTUALLY made a profit on a used dirt bike. I do not know your DR at all, but I know the line. Get a shop manual, and hopefully you already have tools and know your way around. Fresh, that bike should last a really long time, with the proper maintenance and usage. Vintage Bob

YZ__rider

Jan 16, 2010
"All" is an over generalization...maybe "Most dirt bikes are money pits" is a more accurate statement. I have a nice XR400 that I can probably sell for exactly what I have in it. I also bought a 2004 Husqvarna TE250 that needed work (cracked case repaired with JB Weld) for $850 then sold it for $1350.

Is this guy capable of doing the work himself?...that is the question. Buying a bike of that caliber with multiple problems is a money pit waiting to happen, but not all bikes are money pits.

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana