Nov 11, 2007
Well, i wanna start off first by saying that im completely new to dirt bikes. ive ridden my friends a couple times and that about it.

Now that duning season is here, and my truck down for repair, i need something to ride. A friend of mine gave me one of his old dirt bikes and i wanna rebuild it, but dont know where to start.

Its a 1998 honda cr80rb. its old and crappy, but i gotta start somewhere, i guess.

What are my options? Where do i start? Is this a project worth taking on?

Any help would definitely be appreciated

pyrofreak

Apr 9, 2003
I'm not sure what your options are, or where you should start, beacuse you haven't provided enough info. First of all though, any bike that is given to you, or any bike that you have at all is a good one. '98 isn't THAT old, and I can't imagine it being too crappy. You say you need to rebuild it? My advice would be to purchase a manual for the bike and start the teardown to see what condition the motor is in. Get the head and cylinder off, and check the condition of these parts, replace the piston, rings, etc, and get a rebore if nessecary. Check out the bottom end as well. More information would definitly help everyone help you get it up and running! Let us know!

RM85rider123

Oct 28, 2007
you need to check the engine, top and bottom ends, check the frame, replace spark plug, really check the carbeurator; rejet if needed, get a manual, this might seem like a big list, but this is very little compared to what you are going to have to do to get it going. :cool:

mdkuder

Who me?
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Feb 4, 2001
Take your time I've found some sweet used rides and it's the time of the year when everyone is selling to buy the new model years bikes.

cr85re

Mod Ban
Nov 1, 2007