CBRob

Jun 25, 2006
Hello people,
I've been enjoying lots of the threads on here. lots of good info.
I Just traded my old toyota rockcrawler for my first modern dirtbike, a 2002 KX250. I Ride on mountain roads, and now even some cool single track. My riding is from 8000 to 10500 in elevation. I've been sledding for years, but am a total newbie at bikes. Some of the info I hope to get out of this site:
basic riding technique, like should I be standing most of the time? what is up with this preloading for jumps?

what is the basic gear/tool list for backcountry rides. I'm used to carrying lots of stuff during winter/sled trips.

Where can I find jetting specs for hi altitude? w/ a gnarly pipe?

How can I make this bike quieter?

Do they make a bigger gas tank for the kx250? so far I've been ok with the 2.2 gallon tank, but I ride like a newbie.

Can I adjust the pilot air screw "out" to help me stop fouling plugs on long downhills?

Is there anyone else from the Gunnison valley on the forums?

Do these forums have a search feature?

thanks for looking at my welcome to the list post
Rob

kmccune

2-Strokes forever
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 3, 1999
Wow!.... :)

Yes there is a search function, it is on the top of the page, not sure if its available to everyone? Mr. Edds will let you know for sure!

The tools are in a but ag or fanny pack, search on those. But a master link a couple of plugs, a small bottle of 2-stoke oil, phillips and flat screw driver, 8,10, 12 mm wrench, a small crescent wrench if those didn't cover it, a wrench to remove both axles, a tire iron or two, a tire patch kit with an air source, small tube to siphon gas, small LED flash light,basic first aid lit ( mine has a needle and thread (floss) ...you never know) ibuprofin, a rag, some wire and duct tape. maybe more I am having brain fade right now.

Ok enough....

Put an after market silencer on it, FMF makes a nice one with a spark arrestor.

I think Clark MFG makes a bigger tank.