enduro1978

May 26, 2008
Im new to motorcycles and I just got a 1978 Yamaha DT 175 Enduro, its pretty beat up but fixable, I hope. Well, I cleaned the carb and changing the battery/spark plug. Go to kick start it, and it comes back to life but only for a few minutes, then just dies. Don't know whats wrong, I changed the spark plug/plug cap/cleaned carb again but still no use. It kicks over but no spark. I know the fuel is alright, and there is good compression, so that leaves the electrical part. How to I check to see if nothing is damaged, (i.e. the CDI box or Ingition coil..?)? Or could it be the magneto? I am stumped and getting fustrated, any information would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

helio lucas

~SPONSOR~
Jun 20, 2007
the electrical system seems to be fine, otherwise you shouldn´t even get the engine to start...

the jetting is a good place to start:

Main jet 160
Pilot jet 25
Needle 5G4 clip in the middle slot
Needle jet O-2

see if your jets are too far away from this spec...

to test your ignition system normaly you check it with a omh tester or a multimeter in omh scale and compare the values with those listed in the service manual...

enduro1978

May 26, 2008
Thanks for replying,
The bike won't start at all, I have kicked it probably over 20 times, with the choke in/out. I think the carb is in working order but I'll check it again, cause when i take out the spark plug, there is gas on it. I have also tried taking the spark plug out of the cylinder head and putting it in the cap, then laying it on the head to see if i get spark and there is none. Also, I have checked the ingition coil with a multimeter and it seems to be good. Not sure how to check the CDI box, though. Or could it be the Voltage Regulator? And unfortunately I do not have a manual.

I've tried push starting it, but I don't think I was going fast enough. Would that even work with no spark?

Thanks.

helio lucas

~SPONSOR~
Jun 20, 2007