Noob here, and I have alot of questions!

Delgaty

Mar 30, 2009
Hi, I'm shopping for my first bike and my friend linked me here so I figured I'd check it out and find out some info.

Little bit of background- I'm 22 yrs old, around 300 lbs (so yeah i need mucho suspension), I've been riding snowmobiles since before I can remember, I'm used to higher HP machines (currently ride an F7 if you also ride sleds), and I'm looking for a summer hobby. I was looking at quads too but utility quads are too slow and almost everyone I know has a bike instead of a quad so I thought I should do the same. I've never so much as sat on a bike so I'm as amateur as you can get, and I've never ridden anything but sleds and automatic quads.

Being a big guy, most people say I should get a 250F, some even say to go with a 450 but others say I will kill myself. I'm pretty sure I can get used to power quickly so I do want something that is too big for me that I can grow into. I'm also pretty sure I want a race bike (YZ, KX, CR, RM, etc) but I'm open to other models too. I know I want a 4-stroke too, more reliable and not as finicky.

So here are my questions:

What size you recommend I buy?

What type of bike do you recommend? (race, dualsport, etc)

What brand do you suggest? I'm not partial but my friends own mostly Yam and Kawi.

What are some common problems with certain models, certain chassis, motors, etc?

How many hours would you say is too high? Friend of mine told me to get something with under 50.

Aftermarket parts like exhaust, which ones gain power, which lose it?

What gear should I buy? For sledding all I wear is a helmet (of coarse) and sled boots with ankle protection. Should I invest in riding boots, braces, protective vest? I don't plan on jumping huge or whiping out but you never know.

I live in Manitoba, do I have to register the bike? Can I if I want to so I can insure it?

Thanks in advance!

-Ryan

2strokesrock

Oct 7, 2008