crazybrit

Feb 19, 2006
I'm a total dirt newbie (98 KDX220 is my first dirt bike ever) though have about 15 years street/dual sport riding experience.

I'm finding it difficult to manage the throttle response of the bike on tight trails. Part of this may be that I need to start off on jeep trails and easier trails -- which I will.

The other is that I think the jetting may be wrong but I'm not sure how much this is a factor? Others have told me I should have started off on a 4-stroke :-)

I just replaced the B8ES plug with an BR8ES. I cleaned a fair bit of what looked to be solid carbon buildup off the old plug electrode with a wire brush. After one ride (bike seemed to run well but I have zero 2stroke experience) the new plug seems to be oil black over the insulator and electrode (I realize I need to check the base for correct jetting) and also there is a lot of oil buildup inside the spark arrestor.

I'm assuming first thing is to pull carb, check float, verify what jets I have presently installed and compare them to the suggested default?

Only modification from stock is the snorkel has been removed and several 1 1/2" holes drilled into the airbox cover.

How does this airbox mod change the 100% stock jetting recommendation for a stock 220R of 42 pilot jet, R1173L jet needle 2nd from the top clip position, 142/145 main jet and fine tune the pilot circuit using the air screw ?

So far all my riding has been at around 2500-3000' ~60 degrees.
Running 40:1 using AMSOIL Interceptor Synthetic.

Thanks

Tony

John Harris

Apr 15, 2002