Not your typical MX rear fender question...

Been2Long

Dec 2, 2009
MX rear fender install question...

Hey guys, newbie here. Have been doing alot of reading on this site after recently purchasing a very nice/clean 2000 220. It's great to be in the bike riding business again after a very long layoff.

So I bought a Mair fender from Fredette and attempted to bolt it on tonite. Apparently I'm doing something wrong. Now I'm not as techincal as most of the regulars here but I'm not helpless either. It went on rather easily, but the seat bracket doesn't line up correctly on the muffler side now. It's slightly off as you can tell in the picture. I began to notch out the area where it appears to be rubbing but quickly stopped to ask for advice before I did something I might regret later.

Am I the only one to have this problem? It really feels like the fender is lined up and not in a bind anywhere. What do you think I'm overlooking?

Great site here, I'm really enjoying it and being a bike owner again.

Attachments

• Seat.JPG
    Seat.JPG
    25.9 KB · Views: 402
Last edited:

samiam

Jan 3, 2000
It appears that you have mounted the fender just a bit too high on that side. You might be able to lower it by slotting the mounting holes in the fender, or placing a shim under one of the mounting bolts to space the fender slighter lower.

reepicheep

Apr 3, 2009
That whole stack is pretty fussy. It depends on how far forward the front of the seat is, and if the sub tail assembly has been previously bent by somebody looping the bike, and on the condition of the seat pan (which can be reshaped through new covers and different seat pads.