hinmo

Oct 4, 2009
Greetings - newbie here. I sold my orange thumper a few months ago and am making my old backup bike, a 92 KDX, my primary ride. Seeing as I don't ride too often it makes sense. This bike is in great shape and runs excellent.

Is there anyway to quiet this old "chainsaw" down? It has a stock silencer. I think I repacked it a year or two ago. I don't want to loose any performance, but it really is loud.

Any suggestions?

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008
The stock silencer on the 89-94's is a good unit, and a black hole for sound. I don't know of any quieter silencer you could put on. Have you cleaned and repacked it?

hinmo

Oct 4, 2009
I'm pretty sure its stock and pretty sure I repacked it a couple years ago. I dont remember any spark arrestor in the can.

I guess I will leave well enough alone, but I can tell you fo sure: IT IS VERY LOUD

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008
If it is very loud, something is wrong. Take a quick picture and we can let you know if it's stock. packing is in the rear half, spark arrestor in the front half. Just a pic on the bike and I can tell you if it's the correct silencer.

If you don't need a sparky, the DG silencer is nice and quiet, and a good solid unit.

hinmo

Oct 4, 2009
I found the markings on it. Its definitely stock. I will pull it out and check packing and report back.

If I need a DB, do I need to re-jet?

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008

hinmo

Oct 4, 2009
Thanks Julien - I'll take it apart when I get a chance and show some pics.

G. Gearloose

Pigment of ur imagination
Jul 24, 2000
I made a turndown outlet that fits right in using a 1" 90 degree copper street elbow, it puts the sound into the ground, quite effective, plus frequent repack around that short center section in the SA/silencer.

SS109

Jul 27, 2009
I would try a repack and see how that goes.

BTW, I don't know if the '92 is the same as a '90 (I think it is) but here is a pick of the stock silencer disassembled. Part #3 is the spark arrestor section of the silencer.