Philly Inquirer Article = Bad News For Woods Ridin

Mar 13, 2001
mad.gif
Call her on the carpet for this hack job gang. Like it or not, the media plays an important role in forming public opinion. Negative reporting on ATVs is negative reporting for dirt bikers too since the non-riding public lumps us all together. The eco's know this and this is why they spend a lot of time and effort spreading scare stories in press releases that get turned into hack job stories like this one.
mad.gif

My response;

Dear Ms. Moroz,

I found your article on damage done by ATVs to parklands particularly biased and distasteful. As a former journalist I believe that my writing professors, and any editor worth his paycheck, would have chewed you out for such a one-sided story. However, I don't fully blame you. This type of fuzzy-headed thinking is regrettably common at news institutions these days. More and more the media is becoming a schill for every leftist/statist/environmental crusade to come down the pike.

Did you even analyze your own data?

You wrote: "In Pennsylvania, where there are 188 miles of legal ATV trails in the state forests, officials have reported similar devastation by riders who have taken to the backwoods." and "In New Jersey, the number of registered vehicles has gone from 800 in 1989 to 3,017 this year, with as many as 100,000 unregistered. In Pennsylvania, the number has jumped 145 percent to 67,700 in the last five years, not including an estimated 200,000 unregistered vehicles."
By my calculations that's 1423 ATV's per mile of trail in Pennsylvania. Do you still think that the state of Pennsylvania is doing an effective job of providing riding opportunities for ATVs? How about Jersey? I come up with 2575 ATVs per mile of legal trail. If they all went riding on legal trail on the same day you would be able to walk from ATV to ATV and never touch the ground!

Population densities that high of ANYTHING is going to cause damage.