Green Horn

aka Chip Carbone
N. Texas SP
Jun 20, 1999
I've just started to do some grilling using cedar planks. Meats come out tastier that's for sure. :cool: Anyone else grill? I mean really grill like as in consider it a hobby like I do? I'm a newb but I'm learning. I mostly use gas but charcoal is damn good too. Gotta work on my charcoal skillz though. We grill about 3-4 times a week. Which for me means everyday on my weekends. LOL

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
I prefer mesquite over cedar and usually just throw real pieces of the tree on the fire and not worry if it's a plank or not.

Green Horn

aka Chip Carbone
N. Texas SP
Jun 20, 1999
You're talking about actually burning the wood like in a smoker. A smoker is on my wish list. :) I'm talking about using planks that you set the food on and allow them to smoke/ smolder. It tastes alot gooder that way. :cool:
I've done chicken and catfish so far. I think I'm gonna do some Salmon this weekend. Searing the meat helps but I'm still working on my searing techniques. :whoa:

Attachments

• untitled.jpg
    untitled.jpg
    87 KB · Views: 81

JWW

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Apr 13, 2000
I like to bbq but usually overcook stuff. How long are you cooking the chicken on a plank for? Directly over the fire?

Green Horn

aka Chip Carbone
N. Texas SP
Jun 20, 1999