Please help me pick an 85cc Motocross bike!

Porstala F9

Jul 30, 2003
Hi everyone. I am just about 5'6 and a skinny fellow at around 115 lbs and 14 years old, and am getting a new motocross 2-stroke 85cc bike after having soo much fun riding a friends for my 15th birthday! :)

First off, I am coming from a brand new 2003 XR-80, which I will sell to put towards my new bike, so I have plenty of experience with that, as I would say that I rode it pretty darn well. Where I live, there is a nice construction site with alot of dirt roads, and flat rolly hills where we ride, some open flat land farms, occasional trails, and when I get my new MX bike, I plan to ride down to the track 15 minutes from here.

Now, I hear there are major differences between the KXs, CRs, YZs, and RMs. I think I am eliminating the CR right away, because my best friend has one, and he has had TONS and TONS of problems with it. He has went through soo many spark plugs, the bike has had 2 recalls allready, and just so many minor problems. Even he said he strongly regrets his purchase.

So basically, I am asking for anyones input on the YZs, RMs, and KXs, and even CRs despite my little thoughts on them. Differences in lower end, higher end, things like that I am unaware of, reliability, etc things like that or if anyone has any links to discussion or information on these kinds of things, it would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I hear you have to "redo or rebuild" the topend of the bike about every year? Is this the same thing as jetting it? Excuse my newbieness when it comes to these things, but I dont know much about them 2 strokes! :p - What exactly is needed to be done? Is it easy for me and my father (who is pretty knowledgeble when it comes to tools, engines, and things like that..) to do or would we have to bring it in. If someone could please explain this whole issue since I dont know a thing about it!