Question re: Low End Grunt

EBOD

Nov 1, 2001
I have an '02 KDX 220. The only mods I have done are: adding an FMF rev pipe (silencer and airbox are stock) and stiffer fork springs. Jetting is stock.

The bike seems to run really well. I can't notice any bogging anywhere in the power band. It does, however, seem to have lost that "wheelie at will" low end grunt. That is, it's harder for me to lift the front wheel with a mere turn of the wrist in low gears. This happened at about the time I put on the pipe.

I'm not that good with a wrench and any real jetting changes are over my head. That said, however, if anyone has any general suggestions, I could get someone (or a shop) to help me try them. If air screw adjustments might help, that would be great.

For what it's worth, I live in Southern California. I ride mainly at Gorman (approx. 3000 feet; it will be hot during the summer). I also ride a bit at Saddleback (much lower elevation--probably 500-1000 feet). I don't need perfect jetting (I don't race), I'd just like to be pretty close (erring on the side of no engine damage).

As always, any suggestions are appreciated.

--EBOD

Fred T

Mi. Trail Riders
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 23, 2001
Try this:

Please remember that jetting a bike to "std spec" can be harmful if you don't keep a good eye on your plug or "seat dyno" (how it feels and runs) but these settings will get your close.

With a stock 220 just leave the pilot and 145 main jet alone and set the needle at #2. (Second slot from top) Have you drilled holes in your airbox lid yet? This seems to be most of them running pretty decent after adding the FMF Rev pipe. Boyesen 607 power reeds are less than $30 away and they really make a nice snappy throttle. :D

crashburn36

Mar 25, 2002