elcamino12sec

Jan 16, 2006
Hello all, Im new to the form and this is my first post. I have read allot of good questions and some fantastic answers. My question is for my 1994 kx250. First I will tell the problem: When I start it cold, (begining of my day riding) the engine runs an extreamly high rpm for about 25-35 seconds until it warms up, it does not do this the rest of the day. The next day it will do the same thing. I know it is jetted wrong and Im going to work on that this weekend. I have had quite a few dirt bikes but none have had this problem. the bike will do the same thing when I turn off the gas and run the carb dry. It runs so high it sounds like it may blow up, Both starting and running the carb dry. My girlfriends yz85 will just idle until it dies when I run it dry like all my other bikes have done. It does not idle very well and fouls spark plugs but Im not quite sure thats the main problem with the VERY high rpm sarting problem. Now about the bike, I recently purchased it used with a fresh top end ( I saw the parts that came out of it) it has a boyseen rad valve and pro circuit pipe and silencer, mild port work to the clyinder and head. After the bike warms up it runs strong from idle and pulls strong all the way to the top end very smooth and hard, it has allot of power. If I ride hard it will not foul a plug all day, but when riding with my girlfriend on trails for an hour in first gear it will. My main concern is the problem of the extreem high rpm when I first start it, I dont want to have a cold seizure. Thanks in advance!

Morvo

Oct 31, 2005
Is it me or do all KX's have a tendancy to **** up all of the time? My 1995 KX has had problems since day one :( Definately sounds like a fueling issue though mate, what it is exactly I am not sure. Do you use the choke when you first start it?

B

biglou

Jetted way lean? Crank seal maybe? If so, you'll want to get that fixed before it takes you along for a ride you'd rather not be on!

njrealtor55