renthal grip glue=two man job

ryanfoley

Sep 17, 2002
put some on your bar and then slide your grip on! sounds really easy. I got about half way and it wouldnt budge! yanked it off and put some gas in and slid it back on, way easier! but i guess it eats your grip tho, anyone got a better way?

yzeater

~SPONSOR~
May 21, 2001
Haha. Renthal grip glue is easy. Try 1 second contact cement. BigLou recommended this to me. I got it a quarter of an inch on when it wouldn't move any more. Ran into the house, grabbed my dad, and we could just barely get it on. Then the safety wire just cuts up my hands. I'm not really good with grips ;)

evenslower

~SPONSOR~
N. Texas SP
Nov 7, 2001
I've always used Renthal grip glue and don't really have any probs getting grips on and have never really had them slip on me. I just put the glue on the bars (evenly and all around) and a little on the opening of the grip to get started and push/twist on. Let them sit overnight before riding and voila, stuck grips.

Just b/c I said that next time I'll ruin new grips!!!!

DWreck

~SPONSOR~
Apr 14, 2002
I use two sided tape and lighter fluid. This is how golf grips have been done forever. It is easy and when it dries it stays put. The tape I am talking about looks like regular masking tape and is available at any discount golf shop. Take off the old grip, clean the bar and wrap the new tape on. Now peel the outside off and pour lighter fluid (You can get it at Wal-Mart for about a buck-Ronsonol) on the tape and give a quick shot into the grip and swirl it around and the grip goes on easy as pie! I haven't tried this with Renthals soft compound yet but have had no problems with Renthals medium and Pro Grip which is what I am running now. I safety wire for backup, but truthfully have never had a grip slip. Its just a cheap way to look like the pros and maybe make someone think that I know what I am doing! :thumb:

woods_rider1

Sep 27, 2001