BEAM-DRINKER

May 5, 2005
Hello i'm new here and am glad to have found you guys. I just got my 95 kdx 200 last week and in reading the site it seems that keeping the kips valve and stuff free of carbon seem's real important.My bike seems to run great but how do i know if it's carboned up or not? The previous owner did not know if the topend has ever been done so i inspected all the topend bolts to see if the were marred up from being apart before and it dosen't look like they have been tampered with. here is the question i have for you guys can you use ring-free in a can that they use in outboard motors to decarbon them? i have previous experience with this stuff and it works it blows big chunks of stuff out of them and being that it is also a 2 stroke why or why not should it be used? Also can you use outboard oil in your bike? what is the difference? thanks

KDX1

Mod Ban
Jun 5, 2001
Hey Beam,
I used to work in the marine industry and I am aware that OMC Engine Tuner is good stuff, but I have never tried it on my KDX. I am curious too like you. I may try some as I don't think there is much to lose. It can't hurt since there are no electronics like fuel injection. On ocasion I use outboard oil for my pre mix as I don't think it hurts. I am curious as to how good it works because the kdx motor like most 2 stroke dirtbike motors runs in the higher rpm range. I don't think it will hurt to run it on ocasion. Maybe someone else with more experience will chime in on this subject.

John Harris

Apr 15, 2002
In the old days, it was important to run motorcycle two stroke oil and not marine two stroke oils in your motorcycle, because the operating temperatures were very different since the motorcycles were all air cooled. Now that they both are water cooled, I would expect that there is very little difference in the compositions of the oils.