brett88

Dec 27, 2002
Hey Guys,
Newbie here.. so if I say something ridiculous look over it. I have a used 88 KDX with the ugliest, greenish-brown gas tank you have ever seen, my buddy told me it was an aftermarket "desert" tank and I assumed the color was just "off". Well, I scratched it with a wire brush and saw beautiful Kawasaki green underneath.
Using the wire brush for the entire tankwould scratch the he** out of it, so it there some chemical/sandpaper/acid/voodoo that I can use to clean off this "gas funk"?
Anyone have ANY ideas ? Muchass Grassyass.

MassKDX

Dec 11, 2001
On my buddies old 1986 YZ250 we had the same issuse with the white tank and fenders. We used a 400-600 grit paper and the bright white came back. The color is dull and not shinny. You could try to use a 1200 and wet sand afterwards. We didn't but it's a dirt bike and they are suppose to get dirty. :)However, just remember that you are taking away plastic from the tank and it is not as strong. So dont sit there and try to get out a deep scratch by sanding away. Just a thought to keep in the back of your mind.

AndyD

Nov 26, 2002
Hi,

I had the same problem with the tank on my '86 bike I'm rebuilding. I rubbed it all down with 400grit then 800 both wet with pan detergent to stop clogging. This left it looking nice and green but very dull. To get a nice shine back you can either use plastic restore or very carefully warm the surface with a hot air paint stripper. This just melts the surface and gives it a nice sheen again. Go real easy or you will scorch the plastic and ensure the tank has been well vented for a few days before hand and point the open neck away from you at all times just in case.
Cheers,
Andy

fast 200

Jul 24, 2002
there is a renewer kit you can buy for about $15.00 thats works great it will make it look like brand new. look at web sit rockeymountainatv they sell it .

Johnnyboy

Aug 25, 2001