just-startin

Jun 4, 2008
Hi Guys,

I'm new to the game and I'm wondering what kind of maintenance actions you perform and when. I'm looking at a 125 or 250 2-stroke ( think YZ or CR )

What do you currently do after every ride?:
Clean bike ( Do I just hit it with a waterblaster ? )
Clean airfilter ?
Wipe down shocks ? ( do you wipe them with an oily rag or something ? )

What do you currently do at set intervals?:
Insert rough estimate of hours or whatever you use to measure your intervals
Replace airfilter at xx hours
Rebuild front shocks at xx hours
Rebuild rear shocks at xx hours
Clean and rebuild carb at xx hours
Repace rings at xx hours
Replace piston at xx hours
Rebuild bottom end at xx hours
Replace chain at xx hours
Replace tyres at xx hours
Replace spark plug at xx hours
Replace coolant at xx hours
Replace transmission fluid at xx hours

Cheers :)

Last edited:

JunkmanDT250

Feb 25, 2008
After each ride:
1. Remove all the plastics and the seat and scrub the bike clean with mild soap (dawn)a brush and then gently rinse. I never use high pressure for fear of forcing water into places it shouldnt be.

2. Clean and relube the chain and check tension.
3. Clean and reoil airfilter.
4. Check tires and set pressure.
5. Check for any obvious damage that may have occured during last ride.

Every 3rd ride(In addition to above):

1. Check torque on wheels, handlebars, and any other fasteners I can.
2. Change trans oil (If I have ben riding in wet conditions this is done immediately after the ride).
3. Check spokes for looseness.

I do alot more maintenance tha this including a complete teardown and go through at the end of the riding season or every 6 months, depending how much I ride. My suggestion is to get the owners manual and follow the recomendations and tailor changes to that to fit your riding environment. Hope this helps.

just-startin

Jun 4, 2008