noobynoobs

Feb 12, 2007
As you can see by my name I am completely new to the world of motocross. I am wanting to buy a bike, and test ride it. I want to check all gears, but I don't know how to shift. I have been looking on the internet for this for some time but could never find it. I am sorry in advance :bang: for my stupidity.

Cr 1_2_5

Nov 13, 2005
First of all bikes dont have reverse. First what your going to want to do after the bike is running is pull the clutch all the way in. Thats the lever on the left. you will see two levers by rour feet. One is a break (right) one is the shifter (left). You want to push the shifter down for 1st gear while the clutch is in. Once your in gear you want to let out the clutch very slowly(to fast the bike will die) as your letting it out give the bike a little gas and you should be on your way. once you want to shift back off the gas plull the clutch in and pull the shifter up now your in second gearle the clutch back out and get back on the gas. and so on.

motoman880

Feb 2, 2007
and if you buy a new bike dont ride hard if it is a 2 stroke my cuz did that and it blew the top end in the first like hour i would give it at least a full tank before u realy get on it

XRpredator

AssClown SuperPowers
Damn Yankees
Aug 2, 2000
motoman880 said:
and if you buy a new bike dont ride hard if it is a 2 stroke my cuz did that and it blew the top end in the first like hour i would give it at least a full tank before u realy get on it
to translate:
motoman8080 using language that is more easily understood said:
If one purchases a new motorcycle one shant operate it in an abusive manner, especially if it is a two cycle engine. I operated my dirt bike in that manner and the cylinder exploded in the first hour of operation. I believe one should expend an entire tank of gasoline -- mixed in the proper ratio with two cycle oil, of course -- before operating the motorcycle in the higher revolution-per-minute ranges.

B

biglou