vampirsoul87

Dec 9, 2009
hey all
THis my story short and sweet

Mechanic does top end on 450x and he check left and right crankcase

mechanic doesnt tighten the timing plug on left crankcase

Timing plug comes off during 30mile treck and spills oil and gets dirt in left crank case

Didnt notice til end of 30 mile ride..

Is he liabile to come over and clean the left crankcase or what should he ahve to do.. or is it my fault for not noticing while riding trails..

thanks

sharky243

Dec 14, 2008
Maybe you kicked it loose with your boot and didn't notice it. But how would you prove who's at fault ?. Most dirt bikes are sold with no warranty. If it was loose from the factory for example, you'd be S.O.L. Having said that as a mechanic, I always go good on things like that within a certain time period of the repair. Go talk to them, but don't fly off the deep end about it. Maybe they will do a "good will" repair for you.

_JOE_

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2007
I have trouble trusting others to work on my stuff. I would've checked it over for sure but that doesn't mean he shouldn't hold some responsibility. Have you called and made him aware of the situation? He might be more than willing to make it right so you come back. If I make a mistake like that I go out of my way to try to make it up to the customer.

vampirsoul87

Dec 9, 2009
yea i called him.. and hes only told me what to do....

and that entailes spending 50 dollars total cause of his inability to tighten it

5 new quarts of oil and a oil filter = 30 dollars

1 new plug and o ring 20 dollars

he wants me to drain it and add new oil. run the bike 5 mins then drain it again and add new oil.. repeat 3 times..

its bs cause he should come do it.. if i was a mechanic and i screwed up on not tighting a timing plug.. i would offer to come make it right

ellandoh

dismount art student
~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 29, 2004