Spencer

Jul 30, 2002
Ok, It's not all that bad. Basically I'm wondering how difficult changing the springs in the shock and forks will be. I'm plenty mechanical and have been known to strip my bike to the frame after a muddy hare scramble but I'm wondering about any special tools? The book says some are needed but can a guy do it without them, I have a mill and lathe in my shop so I may be able to work up any necessary holders etc. How about measuring the oil level? (Can you tell that the INSIDE of forks are a new area for me :eek: ) Also where can I find a chart for the springs for my weight, I'm pushing 240 in gear so you could say that it's a little undersprung. And last but not least, where do you all recommend I order them from for price/quality. I was gonna have the suspension sprung and valved at a shop but the race funds getting a little thin, at least thats what SHE :p says

munich

Jul 29, 2002
Hi I am kind of new to this stuff my self. Go to racetech.com they have a progam you cam load all of your data in and they will give you the recomended spring rates. My 14 year old son just took my rear suspension apart (2001 kdx220) and regreased it. He also replace the rear spring. Search around thru some of the previous post and you will find a lot of useful information for your bike.

Good riding,
FOG

Matt90GT

May 3, 2002
http://www.whitebros.com

Click on the offroad catalog. You better have a highspeed ISP to load the entire PDF catalog. But like page 9 starts all the listing of fork and spring rates by bike and year.

Also there is recommended series and you can choose a few different rates there if you want to go aftermarket springs. Also see what other bikes like the XR400s and 600s use the same sized springs. You can find the stock takeout used for a cheap price that are stiffer than your stockers.

fatty_k

~SPONSOR~
Jul 3, 2001