maseh2os

Nov 4, 2010
Still trying to figure out what bike to get. I'm a complete newb, totally starting from scratch. I want to do mostly trail riding in the woods with friends, possibly some track stuff later on. My friends all have two strokes so I am really leaning heavily that direction since they will be able to help me learn to ride and work on it, plus I keep hearing that the maintenance/repair work is cheaper and easier.

I'd like to get something used, mostly to save money. At the moment, my budget will probably around 2,000. It would be great to spend under that to get started if I could (the wife would be a lot happier too!).

Oh, and I'm about 5'9'', 210lbs. 28 years old, and if it makes any difference in deciding whether a bike is too much for me, I have no desire to go and get crazy right off the bat and get myself hurt. No problem being the slow guy for a while.

So far, these are the bikes I'm between:

KDX 200/220 - Supposed to be great beginner and trail bikes. Some stock components like forks are crappy, but the bikes seem infinitely modifiable. I feel like they are mostly overpriced in my area, even really old ones. Especially if I'm going to have to throw a bunch into mods early on.

KTM 200 exc/xcw - Supposed to be great all around bikes, better off the shelf than a heavily modded KDX, though maybe a bit too much for a beginner? Can be smoothed out a bit with mods though? Also pretty expensive used.

YZ 250 - From what I understand, this is primarily an MX bike, but I've a LOT of people saying they are the best woods bike they have ever ridden. Some say too much for a beginner, some say no big deal. Can also be smoothed out with mods? Seen a few good deals.