guggie

Mar 3, 2003
...or mud. I am fairly new to dirtbiking and some of the trails i go through have major mud on them. Often my rear tire just washes out and i go down. It actually makes my ride more enjoyable because I laugh my a$$ off everytime I go down in the mud. I dont know what to do to keep from slipping, I try to keep my revs down and lean back but I still fall. Should I go through it faster, I usually hit it at the top of 1st gear. Thanks for the help.

mcoker

Mar 18, 2003
You can try putting it in a higher gear, which will cause less spin... but I think it just boils down to getting used to being in the mud. It's more a grasp of how to handle the slippage and compensate for which direction the bike's going. So I say just keep doing it, and you'll learn what works & what doesn't work for you :)

kx200

Feb 1, 2001
Its hard to tell some one that you need to go a little faster but some times that’s all it takes to keep the tires cleaned out, also try a lower tire pressure. good luck! and you got the right attitude keep it fun.

fender92883

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 26, 2002
I tried riding on a REALLY muddy grasstrack about a month after I started riding. Man was that an experience! Sliding around everywhere on my XR200. Never got above 2nd gear! Wow! Now that I have more experience and confidence and can go faster and smoother on the trails, I'd like to give it a try again. Just don't make me do it all the time! :scream:

BunduBasher

Boodoo-Bash-eRRR
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Feb 9, 2000
you may want to try a set of trials tyres ?! .. Patman may have a suggestion ?

89kdx200rdr

~SPONSOR~
Apr 19, 2003
what are trials tires gonna do. make his flywheel heavier? (maybe youll get it)
soften the suspension clickers front and rear and let a little air outta the tires that easy fixins

Mrobbins

~SPONSOR~
Sep 28, 2002