jim7411

Nov 24, 2003
Okay, I am new to the two stroke world. I just bought an '05 YZ250 and I still have an '02 YZ250F. On the thumper I always stated steady throttle off a jump so that it would not nose dive excessively from engine braking. I have read that the YZ250 has a tendency to jump nose-high. So I took a jump and sure enough, it went straight up. I talked to another guy at the track who told me to soften my suspension way up and let the suspension break in. I did this and it helped a lot but I am leary of the way it is going to sail if I hit it harder and with the new power and learning curve, I am nervous to launch it. I also talked to them about throttle control and one told me to run up to the base of the jump then ease of the gas and let it go from there. He said this helps bring the nose down. I know if I keep the gas on steady up the jump face it's going to go nose-high. So how do you control the throttle for a two stroke when approaching a jump all the way through take off? Right now with the new bike I am not even jumping the small 30 -35 foot tables that I was before because of the unknown flight path.
This is a fantastic bike and I am gong to really love it when I get it in the air a bit more but right now I am just trying to stay out of everybody's way because I am riding so slow on this thing.
I am thinking that on small jump faces like 3-4 feet high I should race up to it then ease of the throttle right before the jump and let it "coast" off the jump. Then on larger jumps with a 10 to 12 foot ramp I should run it up about half way to three quarters way up the face before easing up and coasting off. What do you suggest?