schmanman

Mi. Trail Riders
Jan 9, 2007
I am new to dirtbiking, and have a 76 ke 175 enduro. I am wondering what kind of tires you recommend.

I do some (dirt) road and 2-track riding, and a lot of offroad riding on hard packed down trails. I very rarely go onto paved road. (although I do occasionally).I would like a durable tire, and one that wont get ripped up when you take it on paved road, like knobbies.
If possible, I would like to be able to go through mud with out my rear tire filling up with mud, turning into a slick, and the bike getting out from underneath me.

the tires I have now are vintage dunlop running gear from the 70's, little square knobs with about 1/4-1/8 inch of space between each knob, and 1/4-1/8 inch deep. they are set in rows.

would a enduro tire, or a dual-sport tire be better?

any recommendations?

a recommendation on a specific tire would be wonderful. :)

76GMC1500

Uhhh...
Oct 19, 2006
Dunlop 739 in the rear and a 752 or 756 up front, I don't remember which one I'll have to check. Dual sport tire suck on everything except the pavement. The 739's aren't great in the mud, but nothing that will take occasional pavement is. Just keep that tire spinning to throw the mud out of the knobs.

schmanman

Mi. Trail Riders
Jan 9, 2007
ok, thanks!

what price do those run at?

EDIT: umm, can knobbies or those tires you recomended handle dirt roads? I live on a bunch of dirt roads.

Last edited:

76GMC1500

Uhhh...
Oct 19, 2006