Totally new to bikes...what do I get?

Jul 6, 2008
Hey, I'm totally new to biking and thought maybe you guys could help!

1) your physical size (both height and weight are important): about 5 foot 4, about 95 to 100 pounds.
2) How physical / aggressive are you ?: Not very physical or aggressive at all.
3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ?????: trail riding...so I guess woods
4) Do you have any riding experience?: No experience at all.
5) Do you think you will race ?: Doubt it.
6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work?: Possibly for really general stuff.
7) Do YOU have a preference to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)?: It would be cool to have a Kawasaki, but I don't know if that's right for me, so not really that much preference. Small brands would be ok too.
8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry?: I'm not sure if I have a dealer near me.
9) How much ($) do you plan to spend on a bike? As little as possible. I just bought a PRS guitar for $2,700 so I'm hoping not to spend TOO much.
10) Do you live in California? Nope.

Thanks in advance!

digifox

May 25, 2006
Kawasaki is one of the better starter bikes

Because
they last forever and still keep kicking, and they hardly ever break.

Try Craigslist and look for a 89-98 Kx or KDX 100 or 125

a 2-stroke will last you a bit longer before its out of power as you get older..

rmc_olderthandirt

~SPONSOR~
Apr 18, 2006
Any of the major manufacturers (Honda, Yamaha, Kawasaki, etc.) would be a decent bike. Stay away from the no-name cheap bikes as they don't survive and replacement parts are hard to come by.

You didn't mention your age so I don't know if you are a teenager and likely to grow some more.

Dirt bikes come in two basic varieties: "MX" and "off road".