kennedy

Mar 23, 2008
I've done the plug chops and got the main jet looking good on the plug reading, the clip is set right too. I went from a 45 pilot jet to a 42 based on the plug readings. I still get some spooge from trail riding, should I go to a 40? I guess I answered my own question but it seems like a big drop from the 48 that was in it when I got it. Also how is 160psi for a compression reading?

Racerjoey1

Jun 19, 2002
Im no expert, but I would try the 40 and see how it runs. It cant hurt anything unless it is way too lean.

160psi isn't bad at all. I'd wait until it got down to 120psi or so before I'd really worry about it.

jason33

Oct 21, 2006
that black spoo- is oil thats not burning completely
you go down- you will have even more-
you go up ,and it might wet foul-(too much fuel)
what i have found is some oils are like that there not that great
what is the premix?- 32:1?- go for 40:1, and jet accordingly-check your plug again
if your at 40:1- try different oil,and a different plug
if the pilot is to lean -it is harder to start,and will give a sound through the breather to let you know its starving- booowaaaap
i love klotz oil- it burns clean, yamalube is good too, gold spectro is ok
a lot of the synthetic oils are wayy better than the old standard oils,and they burn cleaner

from idle to mid -to top end you should burn the same-
have you checked the reeds lately?, they will do this as well because of the lack of strength to stay closed

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
The spooge may be caused by your fuel. Pump fuel will often leave some spooge in a trail bike, even if it well jetted.

FWIW, on a long trail ride that varies alot in elevation and weather conditions, it is better to be a little rich (making spooge?) climbing rocks at high elevation than it is to be too lean on a lower elevation fire road.

If it runs good and the only problem you are having is a little spooge, you might just consider leaving it alone.

kennedy