what size for a tall 14 year old

Alex2

Jul 20, 2009
1) your physical size 5'10 and 145 pounds
2) How physical / aggressive are you ? Moderately aggresive but not reckless
3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ????? Woods and fields with friends
4) Do you have any riding experience? I have rode a 2 stroke yz 80 and can somewhat use a clutch.
5) Do you think you will race ? probably not
6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work? I plan on doing the work myself
7) Do YOU have a preferance to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)? I would prefer 4 stroke because I am new to this.
8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry? I plan on using a used bike from craiglist or something
9) How much ($) do you plan to spend on a bike? Anything under 1000
10) Do you live in California? no
11) Your age 14

any advice is welcome. Thanks.

Last edited:

cr125matt

Jul 26, 2009
you might be able to buy a clunker for that price that is the right size but you need something like a 125 2 stroke or 250 4 stroke and to one thats beat to sh*t you need at least $1800.

rmc_olderthandirt

~SPONSOR~
Apr 18, 2006
For your height you will want a full sized bike. Finding a four stroke in decent shape for under $1k will be tough. I would recommend a 125cc two stroke. You should be able to find a reasonable bike from the early to mid '90s in your price range.

Don't forget that you need at least the basic riding gear to go with it. Do not even get on the bike without a helmet, goggles, boots and gloves. To buy all that new will cost at least $300 and could be much more. I highly recommend a chest protector, knee and elbow pads. A good pair of riding pants will save you from tearing up your jeans. And don't forget that you will need a way to transport your bike to a place you can ride it.