What's a better venting helmet: Fox Pilot or Troy Lee SE

cq

Feb 6, 2002
I have about one years riding experience under my belt. I moved from a KTM 200 exe to the KXF250. I am a second and third gear rider and my head overheats all the time. I live in Northern California. I narrowed my choices to the Fox Pilot and the Troy Lee SE.

Is there anybody out there with experience with both?

$400 dollars is a lot for me if I am not fast enough to feel the venting.

CQ

cq

Feb 6, 2002
Thank you for your reply. Some riders told me that unless you are an aggressive rider you won't feel the venting in helmets.

Okiewan

Admin
Dec 31, 1969
Texas
Venting isn't like air conditioning in any helmet. It does however let some of the heat out and is better than a (good) non-vented helmet.

No experience with the TLD, but the Fox Pro Pilot and the Arai VX-Pro both vent really well.

Smit-Dog

Mi. Trail Riders
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Oct 28, 2001
Speaking of the new Troy Lee SE helmet, can anyone comment on it's weight? I have an HJC CLX helmet, and at 3.4lbs, it's fine, but I'm looking for a lighter helmet for those 6 hour rides. The Troy Lee web site doesn't list the weight.

Enduro_Nut

~SPONSOR~
Feb 7, 2002
Have you seen the TLD Helmet - the most vented helmet I've seen!! I would opt for the TLD - actually I am going to buy one specifically because of venting. Big bucks, but like you I need a way to cool off better.

Last edited:

Enduro_Nut

~SPONSOR~
Feb 7, 2002
Okiewan said:
I'm not sure how you can tell how well venting works by looking at it? A lot of holes doesn't necessarily mean it will vent well.

Agreed - but after you see it close up you would agree. The helmet is truly incredible for a dirt bike.