gunslinger45

Mar 5, 2004
I've got an 88 rm250 that just doesn't seem to be running as strong as it should at the bottom and mid range. Doesn't seem to have any pull unless you work the throttle up and down and then it will really take off. I've got a 58 pilot jet in and I'm not sure of the others. The jet that the thottle needle slides into said 380, but I haven't seen any references to that size jet. (Is this the needle jet?). Air screw is 1.5 turns out. Anyway, I'm just not sure where to look anymore. I've thoroughly been through the carb and things are all clean and clear. I have no idea how old the reeds are, but I could not see any gaps when I last looked at them. Any ideas? Keep in mind I'm no pro and I'm not talking about tweaking to get another 1 hp out of this thing, something is definitely not right.

Thanks guys,

Trev

reelrazor

Jun 22, 2004
What's the plug look like?

What does the bike do when you get to that throttle opening in 2nd or 3rd...and hold it right at that spot? Does it buck or surge, or just decrease revs(try to die)?

Can you reach the enrichener(choke) while doing the above? If so, does the enrichment make it worse or better?

gunslinger45

Mar 5, 2004