kev_rm

~SPONSOR~
Jun 7, 2002
99 RM250. Using it for woods mostly. Love the power, but would like a little better behavior down low. Midrange is insane, and it seems like top end is just as good as midrange. I will probably get eric gorr porting (better everywhere) at the next top end rebuild, but am looking for a pipe to start. Currently stock except 13/51 gearing and FMF turbine silencer.

Is FMF Gnarley a good pipe for down low?

clumberjacks

Apr 25, 2002
well, its hard to say. you have a rm and i have a yz. but its really on how you ride it. if your gonna pound on the gas all the time, then you want something like the fmf fatty or the powercore. i have the pro circuit which is also a great pipe for pit riding, but not too good in the woods. i think any aftermarket pipe is gonna make you bog. but if your looking at a good pipe to buy, i would go with the fmf powercore. my buddy has one on his cr and it is great.

kev_rm

~SPONSOR~
Jun 7, 2002
Well, I'm pretty new to this all. Today was about my 10th hour on the bike - The thing has so much midrange power that it either wheelies or spins the tire in every gear, including 5th, going 50+ MPH. My biggest complaint is killing it in the technical stuff. Technique is helping, but it still doesn't have much power very low. I've thought about a flywheel weight, but I really do like the power on the open fireroads and stuff, and so don't want to snuff that with a flywheel weight.

RM_guy

Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 21, 2000
North East USA
Before you waste your money on a new pipe, wait to see how you like Eric's porting. You may be surprized that you won't even need a pipe.

kev_rm

~SPONSOR~
Jun 7, 2002
What is the turn around time on those? Is it even worth considering having this done locally? There is a guy near me that all he does is engines (kinda like eric..)

RM_guy

Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 21, 2000
North East USA