why waste the money?

est142

Dec 30, 2003
Yah...why waste the money on riding boots? I will just use my regular workboots and spend the $100-150 on something else. WRONG!!

Now I have a nice 6 stitch gash in my shin,and won't be riding for a few weeks. It took 10 years of riding to happen...but it happened. Do yourself a favor. If you are like I used to be,and think riding boots are optional, go buy a pair and save yourself the $50 copay at the emergency room. It might not happen every ride,but if I had riding boots on I would only have a bruise from the rock, not the frankenstein starter kit.

WildBill

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Mar 29, 2002
Back when I started riding I bought a brand new '90 XT350 and the shop through in a cheap offroad helmet. I bought a pair of MX gloves and some steel toed work boots and off I went. Rode that way for 2-3 years before I sold it and bought a quad, a better mx helmet and riding boots. Looking back, I was fortunate to have never seriously injured myself. Three years ago when I bought my KDX, I invested in all the safety gear I could. I ride with a different group of guys now and that, along with age played a big part in me smartening up. I equate my current riding gear to my hockey gear. Always plan for the crash. I now have a pair of SIDI flex forces and they are the best boots I have ever worn. Heal up and ride safe.

Reesknight

~SPONSOR~
Oct 31, 2002
When I first started riding with boots, I couldn't hardly stand them. I couldn't feel the gear lever or brake lever and they just felt awkward. After a short period of time, I realized my feet knew exactly where the levers were and I didn't need or want to feel anything with my feet. Riding boots have saved my feet, ankles and shins from countless injuries. Now I can't even start my bike without boots on. My feet are too tender! :(

70 marlin

Mi. Trail Riders
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Aug 15, 2000