bully_23

Apr 22, 2005
Hi everyone I'm in the market for 125 class motocrosser and I was wondering how the rm125 would be I can pick up a killer deal on an 05 model and save like $4000 aud on a brand new 06. Im a bit of a novice but i know how to ride. The only other motocross bike I have ridden is a 01 yz250f It seemed to have the right amount of power for me and wasnt 2 scary. now how would it stack up against the 4 strokes performance wise I know it will be cheaper and easier to maintain which is good but I am worried i wont be competitive in mx when i start......would the exhaust system it comes with help. Thanks alot sorry for the long post my details and the bike add are below
1) your physical size 5"6 160 lbs
2) How physical / aggressive are you ? agressive but cautios sometimes
3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ????? MX and just around fields and small trails
4) Do you have any riding experience? yes on a honda 50 and recently a chinese 150cc 4strk (piece of crap lol)
5) Do you think you will race ? yerp
6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work? Im not very inclined but i will learn my dad knows a bit but not heaps. Dirtbikes isnt something he is into

Ad Details:
MAKE/MODEL: Suzuki RM125
YEAR: 2005
PRICE: $5,500.00
ENGINE: 125CC
CONDITION: Very Good Condition
Comments...X-RACE FULL EXPANSION CHAMBER EXHAUST SYSTEM WELL MAINTAINED FAST NO FUSS FINANCE AND INSURANCE AVAIL.

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
Bully:

This is going to be long, but I think it will be educational for you . . . LOL

First, as Eric Gorr says, "Speed is 95% rider and 5% bike. Better make that 5% count."

The 250F's have about the same peak horsepower as a 125 2 stroke - i.e. stock 125s and 250f's have about 31-33 HP stock. However, the 250f's have a lot more torque on the bottom end and midrange. Most people find them much easier to ride because you don't have to shift as much and the power delivery is more forgiving.