Neodrivesageo

Nov 17, 2009
Hi. I'm new to the dirtbike community. I recently found myself with a 125 CC 2 stroke Yamaha dirtbike. It's the first one I've ever had. I was riding it in an open field today, and it kept acting like it wanted to die. It started stalling out, but I popped the clutch and it started up again. This happened a few times, and finally it stalled and wouldn't crank. I checked the spark plug and the side electrode was broken off (I'm guessing it came out through the exaust.) I replaced the spark plug immediately, expecting it to start right up since it was still warm and I tried kicking it for a good 30 minutes to no avail.

Any idea what the problem could be?
Thanks
Louis

_JOE_

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2007
You need fuel, air, compression, spark and timing. If the ground starp broke of the plug there's a good chance you did some internal engine damage causing low compression and the no start condition. Is the spark plug wet after you kick it for a while?

sharky243

Dec 14, 2008
For the cost of gaskets, I would atleast take the top end apart to have a look inside. As Joe said, spark ?, compression (120 psi minimum) ? Fuel ? A broken reed can cause a no start aswell.

Neodrivesageo

Nov 17, 2009
Yes, the spark plug was wet. I am no mechanic, but a friend looked at the spark plug and told me he thought there may have been water on it. I took his advice with a grain of salt though, because he is a pill junky.

I do get spark, there is gas in it, and there appears to be compression. (I put my finger over the spark plug hole, and it did make my finger burp.) I don't now how to find out if it's getting air, or if the timing is correct.

Last edited:

_JOE_

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2007
It should have strong resistance at the lever when you try to kick it over. If it is very easy to kick chances are good you have low compression.

mathd

Oct 11, 2008
I am sure you will have to do a top end.
Dont kick it more, if there is internal damage this will make it worst.