Mar 28, 2006
Hey all, I'm new here.

I read some threads on my topic and have tried numerous ideas... Here's my problem I received a Honda 1974 z50. There is no rust at all on it. It sounds like it has good compression, but I have "No Spark". I'm not sure when it actually ran last. So I replaced every piece of electric portion on the bike, except the tail light.
All brand new:
1) Ignition Coil
2) The entire Stator ((capacitor, points and coils) Gapped the points to the manual settings)
3) Complete wire harness
4) Kill Switch
5) Dimmer Switch
6) Spark Plug (Gapped it according to Manual)
7) Headlight

I'm not sure what the spec is for the electrical current through each item but I am getting voltage. I put the spark plug on the block and crank it with no spark to be seen.

Oh and I'm not a motorcycle mechanic, so I'm learning. I'm thinking this is the same scenario as you would have on a push lawn mower with a pull start, right?

Any ideas would be awesome!

Thanks,
Jim

83MX80

Feb 21, 2005
hmm thats weird that you've replaced pretty much the whole electrical system and still having troubles with it. is it shorting out somewhere? i'd peel off all the plastics and inspect all the wires to see if they are bare/uncovered and put a test light on it. thats really all i can think of. sorry.

TimberPig

Jan 19, 2006