MXP1MP

Nov 14, 2000
I've never done this before so I was wondering if anyone has or known someone who has done it. From your experience what was the best way to do it? I'd like it to be as even as possible. I'm going to remove like an inch maybe inch and half mostly in the middle portion. Any tips on how to make it more evenly or tools used?
Thanks guys.

DK

Feb 26, 2000
I cut down and reshaped my DRZ400 seat and it made quite a bit of a difference. The stock tended to push you back and didn't allow me to comfortably touch the ground in awkward situations. Much better now.

I first marked the area I wanted to cut with a marker and then cut right off the top using an hack saw blade and smoothing it down with sand paper, starting with rough and using less coarse grades for a smooth finish. It's not as smooth as I would like, needs to be sanded further. If I was going to do it again I'd try cutting off against the bottom (against the seat pan), not the top. That way the top would keep it's original smooth finish.

B

biglou

Makita (and others, I'm sure) makes a small, hand-held electric belt sander. They work great for shaping foam. You may be able to rent one from a local rent-all.

Tips-Make your marks ahead of time and be patient and take your time. Neatness counts here!

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
Electric knife. Yup the same thing used on the holiday turkey. You can also perforate the bottom if you desire a softer feel (KTM guy here can ya' tell?). :D

P_Taylor

Uhhh...
Jun 17, 2000
I have never tried this but I have been told this works well.

First , soak the foam in water

Second , freeze it

Third , cut and sand to shape while frozen

Fourth , de-thaw and dry out

MONKEYMOUSE

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2001
hot knife

My friend used a "hot knife" it worked good to make the main cuts. Then used a beltsander. Looks rather good. The hot knife made a bit of a mess:scream:. seeing how it melts the fome. But thats what its made to do:) .