HELP! Looking for a good trail bike..

Fman

Feb 28, 2007
Hello! I am new to the motocross world. I rode years ago as a kid. I am currently looking for a bike, but am a little confused. I am 6'1, 200 lbs, looking for a good used trail bike. I had my sights on a Honda CRF250X (04/05) or the Yamaha WR250F (04/05). I have read some articles that the Hondas have valve problems and require high maintenace. I am not a racer and just plan on riding with my son on trails. I am looking for a bike that is not going to require a ton of maintenance and have good power. I am 35 years old and dont plan on beating on the bike...

Anyone have any recommendations? Should I stay clear of the Honda's?

Any help would be great!

Thanks
Fman

Tony Eeds

Godspeed Tony.
N. Texas SP
Jun 9, 2002
First, welcome to DRN. :cool:

Second, fill out your User CP, so we can hook you up with members in your area.

Third, I'm going to move this for more views.

Fourth. check out the What Bike Do I Get... ? forum for tons of great info on bikes. Use search and you will get lost in there for days. :) Check the Help Us Help You ...Hints to help get advice on bikes thread for great information that will help everyone zero in on recommendations.

Lastly, regarding your question about valves, all 4 stroke bikes have maintenance schedules and procedures that must be followed to keep them in top shape and keep them from turning into a grenade. Personally, I have never felt the work to be a burden.

Any 250F should serve your needs well. My son is 6'1" / 230 and that is what he rides. I'm sure others will chime in with their opinions.

Jan 3, 2007
If you are not gooing to any extream then a older XR250, 400, or 600 would be a easy bike to ride. But they are heaive. Also, you could look into a used Suzuki DRZ400.

rmc_olderthandirt

~SPONSOR~
Apr 18, 2006
What state do you live in?
(I wish that question was part of the "sticky" form)