Need help and advice! Bike got wet.

bmoore4w21

May 2, 2005
So the story goes that I was finishing the last 25 feet of some of the worst terrain I've seen and I thought that I would just blow through this puddle at the exit of the trail. Little did I no that it ended up being 3 and 1/2 to 4 feet deep. My KX 250 was not happy with me.
Anyways I got it home without running it at all. I removed the cap that sits on the head. I sprayed down the piston and cylinder with WD-40 to prevent rust. In addition I removed the exhaust, air filter, and the oil in the crankcase. Im not an expert but I'm pretty confident that I did the right thing to avoid any major damage. My problem is that I can not start the bike now. It appears that fuel is not entering the cylinder. I layed the bike on its side to remove any possible water in the carb. however that did not work. Is there something I'm missing? My only last idea is to remove the carb. and examine it. Possibly disassemble and the reassemble. But I thought I would ask the experts out there for there advice first. I couldn't be the first to do this! FYI the bike is a KX 250 '01. Thanks for the help!
Brad

ellandoh

dismount art student
~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 29, 2004
lucky for you i have an article from the net on lake riding with paddle tires on and they tell you about this in advance :cool:

If you get water in your engine it can do some damage. If your bike starts to sputter or if it dies from water in the engine I recommend getting the water out of your bikes system before starting the bike again. Water will be in your cylinder, carburetor, intake boot, air filter, air box and if you sink it water will be in your gas tank and transmission.