NEw or Used for a new rider?????

zam42

May 18, 2002
I am new to dirt bikes and will be doing mostly trail riding but would love to experiment with track's I am 6'4" and weigh 215 to 220 lbs. what bike should I be looking at. I realize a 125 is a good learner bike but will I out grow it too quickly? I have ridden sleds for quite a while and need a summer hobby. (maybe winter too after the last few crappy ones.) Also I dont want to get ripped off by getting used. any help would be great thanks for the info guys! :p

OldMaiconut

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Apr 28, 2001
You didn't say if you had any riding experience. If you want trails and maybe tracks, then I would lean towards a used 250 Motocrosser. You just need to start slow because they have some sudden power that could get you in trouble. If you have no experience, I would point you towards something like a Kawasaki KDX or a Honda XR 250. Get some experience and then get yourself what you really want later. There is nothing wrong with buying used, as long as you know or have someone with who knows what to look out for. Good luck and have fun.

MXP1MP

Nov 14, 2000
get a used one so that way once you get done with your crashing all the time phase that won't happen after you've been riding for awhile you won't get as depressed when you break something :) I didn't have a bike of my own for 5 years and when I got back into ridding a picked up a used good condition 86 cr125 for $800 that way you won't be out tons of cash either but get something alittle newer then that at least early 90's.

Dr.Zaius

Mod Ban
May 7, 2002
I agree...get something used for a used bike. I started out used, then more used, then another used...NOW I have a new bike and it is AWESOME! :aj:

Wraith

Do the impossible its fun
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 16, 2000