Pantelisc

Apr 27, 2009
I'm new to dirt bikes and want to get one.
I don't have that much money though.
I'm almost 5"7 and growing, 110 pounds, and 15 years old.
I think i would ride trails and tracks and probably race a little.
So far the options i have are a 1989 Yamaha YZ85 in good condition for $500, a 2004 Suzuki DRX110 for $850. Oh yeah for both those the guy would be giving me all the gear. Also i know someone selling a 2007 Yamaha YZ125, but i don't know how much yet.

199cr125199

Mod Ban
Mar 3, 2009
all those u said are bad choices and too small i would find a good 125cc thats not too old find a 92 and up or a 85cc try honda they sell them for cheap used where do u live i could help u find a good bike and how much money do u have to get one

Pantelisc

Apr 27, 2009
i don't have that much which is the problem.
But i was thinking about getting the 85 to learn on and i'm getting all the gear which is like $300 or $400 right there and then i could sell the 85 for like $400 once i learn better and get a 125 and by then ill have more money.

Apr 30, 2007
As the others have said, the bikes you listed are going to be too small. (This excluding the 125).

What will your primary riding area be? If you are going to be mostly on trails, you'll want to get a solid 4-stroke bike, such as a Honda CRF 250X, or Honda XR 250. These will have good enough suspension for doing smaller jumps, but will NOT handle a motocross track very well. If you shop around, you will be able to pick up an XR250 for about 12-1500$ This bike is very low maintenance. All you'd really have to do is change the oil regularly, and check the chain and sprockets from time to time.