mprest4

Nov 14, 2001
i had a wreck saturday i probably have a class II separation. did this about 10 years ago and i remember the feeling so i didn't go see the dr. but i can't remember how long i need to wait before i start rehab. do i wait until it stops hurting or just fight through it and start now?

anyone done this lately?

thanks

sigar

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2000
I got a class 3 separation at the end of April. I'm real up to speed on these. I can tell you what to do for a class 3, and you can decide to do it or less. Wear a AC splint, or other immobilization device for 4-6 weeks. 6-8 weeks start light therapy. Best to use a theraband (basically a big rubberband). It's too hard to explain the type of movements to do so I can scan the sheet the Dr. gave me and email it to you if you like. The important thing is not to do any overhead movements. They say to resume activity in 10-12 weeks. I started riding again at 10 weeks, I have been pretty much taking it easy, although I have had some minor get offs. It has been about 17 weeks now, and I still can't sleep on my right/injured side, and it's a little sore after riding. The doc says it will take anywhere from 6 months to 1 year to completely heal. And since the anatomy is different now (the clavicle sits above the acromion vs. flush with it) he can't say whether the joint will be as strong as before. They say arthritis later in life is a sure thing. The best part about this is I used to ride almost 100% MX, but when I started riding again I wanted to take it easy so I started woods riding. I love tight singletrack. I probably won't check this post again, so if you want the exercise sheet drop me a line at carlo@gotnet.net or if you have any more questions, I really studied up on this stuff but can't go into it all here.

MXN4FUN

Jul 7, 2000