Rick James

Aug 31, 2004
Hey people this is my first post. I figured I would post this question on the thumper forum since I have my options narrowed down. I can't decide on what bike to buy so I was hoping you could help me out. First, a little about me. I'm approx. 195-200lbs and right at 6' 1". I'm an amateur roadracer (GSXR-750 and GSXR-1000) former mountain bike downhiller and I use to ride dirt way back in the day (KX80). I plan on riding 50% track and 50% trail maybe a little more trail than dirt since I live closer to the trails. On the other hand I love mixing it up with other riders so I may get hooked on going to the track. The guys at the dealer say go for the WR while my friends who ride say go for the YZ. I won't be doing any night riding and I don't care about the push button start so that won't sell me on the WR. Please help me out!!!!!

KDX_220

Aug 13, 2004
I debated the same thing when looking into a new 250F and decided the YZ was for me. Eventhough I dont ride track, I loe the light and almost 2 stroke feeling of the YZ. There booth greak bikes but remeber its easier to make a motocross bike a trail bike than a trailbike a motocross bike.

ironworker

America since 1908
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Feb 9, 2004
Rick, First you should have posted this in the forum f"what bike to get"
second, if you do a search in that forum there is a ton of posts on this very debate.
Hope it helps.

Rich

Rick James

Aug 31, 2004
ironworker said:
Rick, First you should have posted this in the forum f"what bike to get"
second, if you do a search in that forum there is a ton of posts on this very debate.
Hope it helps.

Rich

Yeah I know but I wanted to hear it straight from the 4-stroke guys. I'm sure you understand where I'm coming from. I'll do the search and please comment if you have any advice anyway. Thanks.

Hick

Aug 15, 2000
Rick James said:
Did the search and they didn't answer my question. All comments and advice appriciated.