wanaride

~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2003
I tried the search function but I didn't see any posts that screamed "I'm the answer to your question", so...

(Maybe this should go in the FAQ??? :think: )

I'm a beginner woods rider. Practically everything I ride is rocky uphill/downhill sections and single track. I MIGHT get into 4th gear on straightaways once in a while, but most of my riding is 2nd & 3rd gear. My current gearing is 12/47 with the stock chain (got 500 miles out of it so I'm doing ok). My chain needs to be replaced, so I figured this is a good time to think about the sprockets too.

Without rehashing the epic debate about whether or not a smaller CS sprocket stresses the chain (sorry, I didn't have the time to crawl through all of that one! :laugh: )...

What is "better" for the type of riding I do, 12/47 or 13/50? (CC, I realize "better" is relative, I'm just looking for recommendations.) If 13/50 is the way to go, how many links should I get for the new chain? (Isn't stock 108?)

I have read that an O-ring chain will require the chain guide to be widened, but will the 50T rear sprocket "fit" with my stock chain guide?

I have read that aluminum sprockets wear faster than steel, but are there any other issues I should be aware of?

Thanks for your help! :cool:

Last edited:

rbernie

Jun 22, 2004
I seem to ride in very similar conditions to that which you've described. Without addressing the 'better' aspect of the gearing question - I just did a 13/50 install and the stock chain guide was too close/high to the rear sprocket for my comfort. I replaced it with a Fredette unit, and for my limited use so far it's worked well. I'd actually consider gettin a 51-tooth rear sprocket the next time I do this - 13/51 is closer to a 12/47 than a 13/50...