1985 KDX 200 starting issues

willub

Jun 9, 2010
I just picked up an 85 kdx 200 from a friend for free. It ran really well for a while but then it started randomly dying on him and running terribly. Now it wont start. What is the compression supposed to be on these? im guessing 150ish. I got 110 out of it but didn't kick it over really well. I'll get a better number tomorrow.

I'm new to dirt bikes but I've been working on sleds and cars for as long as I can remember. Carb is cleaned and in working order. Reed petals are fine. Seems like the stator to me and I know they had problems. It would roll start before I got it but now it wont. It will fire a couple times while rolling but wont keep firing.

Any help would be great thanks.

sr5bidder

Oct 27, 2008
you may want to pull the stator cover and flywheel of and check the magnets on the flywheel...if they are intact you might want to re-epoxy them, earlier kdx's are known to throw magnets.

while your in there check out the stator windings and fly wheel key.

give the carburator a good cleaning too.

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
I can tell you from first hand experience stator failure is common on '83 - '85 KDX200's.

When mine failed back in the day, it started out being heat sensitive (bike would die when it got hot, then not restart until it cooled down a little).

Then it got worse - hard if not impossible to start cold, and when it would start, bike would die sooner and take longer to cool down enough to restart.

Finally, it would not start at all, no matter what you did.

Rewinding the stator fixed it.

BTW, my stator would measure within spec (the old '84 manual had resistance specifications), which made this a tough problem to diagnose.

FWIW, I did have my flywheel key shear on that bike too, but it would not run at all when that happened.

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
You know, I don't think I ever did.