xkevenx

Dec 4, 2007
hi guys, i was thinking to make my own muffler for my suzuki, and dont worry i am a certified welder :cool: so my question is what is the best to do? a longer pipe or shorter, or a bigger hole or a smaller hole than the original? i was thinking about making it longer and making the hole little bit bigger dan the original. or can someone give me a drawing of a fmf muffler or so? so i can make a reference

thanks in advance
sixtyfive.

BSWIFT

Sponsoring Member
N. Texas SP
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 25, 1999
There is alot of design characteristics that you need to consider. The most prevalent thing is scavaging. If you reduce or expand the volume of the pipe improperly, the scavenging will be greatly effected, thus reducing power and efficiency. Maintaining the balance of volume and resonance is crucial to proper pipe design and allowing the pipe to fit the bike cleanly is something the aftermarket pipe manufactures spend lots of R & D on. You can do "trial and error" but without knowing what your are trying to achieve and where to attack the design, you are really whizzing into the wind.

BSWIFT

Sponsoring Member
N. Texas SP
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 25, 1999
PS: I am no expert. I've read many articles in the forums about two stroke theory and operation. The availability of good articles and explanations are on the web and maybe even in the archives of DRN. Creating or modifying a two stroke pipe is achievable and with proper knowledge of the theory can provide results that arrive at your intent. Blindly modifying will produce unpredictable results, most likely undesirable. I'm not trying to discourage you. Do more research before putting your welding skills to work. It will be time well spent and possibly produce results that are favorable.

wileyE

Jul 6, 2003