Bside003

Jul 23, 2008
I'm looking at a 90 YZ250, the guy says it's fine through the low and mid range, but loses power at the top end. I'm new to riding so what things should I check out before I buy it?
And is there anything that would be a deal breaker?

Tom68

Oct 1, 2007
I'd be worried if he's found it too hard to fix.Other than serious pipe damage most 2 strokes will have a bit of a scream up top regardless of their condition.

rmc_olderthandirt

~SPONSOR~
Apr 18, 2006
The power valve could be stuck. I had mine gum up and it was like there was no top end at all. Easy fix, remove the power valve, clean, reassemble. 30 minute job the first time I did it, probably a 10 minute job now that I know how.

If the bike has issues that the seller doesn't want to fix then it is a good bet that other maintenance on the bike has been deferred as well. When considering the value of the bike factor in the condition the tires are in, brake pads, chain guides and other wear items. These are all easily fixed items it just takes a few $$.

The power issues could be something simple but you should consider the probability that it needs the carburetor cleaned and the top end rebuilt. A new set of carburetor gaskets will probably cost around $20 and I would recommend changing the float valve, around $40. A top end rebuild, if done now before things get destroyed, will be around $200.

Rod

Bside003

Jul 23, 2008
Well, he said that he's getting out of it, getting too old, says the bike scares him with the power it has. I'll get to ride it on Thursday.

FNG

May 2, 2008
I bought a 95' YZ 250 this spring from a guy that rode it 2 maybe 3 times a year for the past 10. He changed the oil and cleaned the carb every spring and that was it. He too was getting out of the sport as time and age were not his friend anymore.