92KDX200 woes Help needed please.

Bricko

Jun 6, 2005
My Daughter's boyfriend just bought his first bike, with no knowlede and not enough money bought a 92 KDX200.

He is learning the hard way and so am I as I am now the one responsible for making this abused bike go again.

So the story goes like this...
Pat(well we will call him that) who has never ridden a dirtbike in his life before arrives to look at a bike thats in his bugdet. The guy tells him that he lost the kick starter yesterday while out on a ride but it will push start and just get a new kicker and" it will be right mate" and knocks off $100 off the price.

He rings me after going out for his first ride, tells me that the bike was going but was a bit slugish and now won't go. Can he bring it to me to check out and help fix it.

I say yeah sure but remember I am a cabinetmaker not a mechanic.

So pat arrives with the bike and it's a sorry looking bike. wrong bolts, missing screws etc you have heard this sad story before.
Pat tells me he picked a kickstarter on the way with a naieve smile.

Ok so the bike won't start kicked or pushed.

I do thye obvious, new sparkplug, air filter clean, check the spark. All this checks out and so I pull off the carby and clean it. There was a little bit of junk in it but seemed ok.

I need to know how far to screw in what I think is the main seat? jet? I took it out to clean it and forgot to check its original position. the manual doesn't help as it shows a different carby and only the update specs in the appendix at the bak of the book not how it all goes together and its proper adjustemnt
Thats the first problem. Please help.

Ok still no go. I inspect the reed valve looks ok.

Ok off with the head and oh brother what a mess. The pins on the tops of all the power valves(kips) are broken off and grinding the locating holes into a loveley oval shape.