Alex28

Oct 17, 2008
Hey guys,

My first questions is really noobie but I have no experience with dirt bikes, I'm buying a 2004 Honda CRF230F, it takes straight gas in the gas tank right? And should I use premium or regular gas?
And the third question is how hard is it on that bike to ride two guys on it, were both around 155lbs.

Thanks
-Alex

truespode

Moderator / Wheelie King
Jun 30, 1999
Yes it take regular gas. Premium would be the best option.

It can ride two people but is not designed for it and doing so is asking for disaster and injury.

Yes I rode 2 (and even 4) up on my old DT 100 when I was a kid. It wasn't smart and I have the scars to prove it.

Please ride responsibility, safely and wear all your safety gear (at a minimum helmet, gloves, goggles and boots).

Ivan

Alex28

Oct 17, 2008
Thanks for the help, I'm planning on buying a chest protector as well. So riding two people on that machine isn't going to damage the machine, it's just dangerous to do so?

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN
I wouldn't attempt anything crazy with it with two people on it, but in order to get from one place to another, it shouldn't hurt it at all.

Alex28

Oct 17, 2008
Yea I'm just going to be riding with my brother on the back to the trail and then will take turns at the the trail, I just wanted to make sure it won't damage my machine, thanks for the help.

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
Considering you are each 155 pounds that's going to be over the rated weight of that small bike. Also realize there are no rear footpegs so the rear rider is going to be dangling their feet and possibly getting them tangled in the chain or wheel or caught on passing fixed objects. Bottom line is that stupid hurts.

Alex28

Oct 17, 2008
So Patman you don't think I should do it? I just want the honest truth, I don't want to cause any damage or unnecessary wear on the bike.

truespode

Moderator / Wheelie King
Jun 30, 1999
Alex28 said: