Absolute newbie needs some help picking out a bike!

wedge123

Aug 15, 2004
I have always wanted a dirt bike...every year I get a little closer to actually getting one. Unfortunately I know absolutely nothing about bikes. Here is a little background for the experts to help me out:

I am 5'10" and weigh around 195 lbs in my birthday suit, so with gear on that would probably put me closer to 210 lbs. I plan on riding mostly on trails or open fields, as I have property (farm land) readily available to me. The terrain is varried depending on the season (flooded to just muddy in a lot of fields, others are unrideable because of crops) with some hills and trails. I am not going to race this bike. My budget is ~$3000 including money for gear.

I'm 25 and therefore no longer invincible: What gear do I need to get to get started? If I can afford it should I just buy everything that a motocrosser would want. I know that I am going to be riding pretty tame but safety is very important to me and more so to my wife (Chief Financial Officer LOL)! Do a lot of you guys that ride like wearing the jerseys and pants from companies like O'Neal over just some jeans and a sweatshirt?

It has been recommended that I start with a 4-stroke 250cc bike. I have never ridden a motorcycle or an ATV before. I am a pretty good mechanic so buying used isn't much of a problem. I just don't know what to look for or where to start. What years, what engine sizes, what models? While this bike will just be a learner bike I don't want to outgrow it after one season.

Thanks in advance! Look forward to everyones input and opinions.

Last edited:

BSWIFT

Sponsoring Member
N. Texas SP
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 25, 1999
The KDX is a great trail bike. Lots of room for making hop ups if you want and plenty of people on DRN that know them well. The XR 400 is also a great bike. For your size, one of these two bikes will give you many years of fun with just basic maintenance.

wedge123

Aug 15, 2004