Advice on a possible bike for wife - needs repair

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
My wife is 5'5" but is a total beginner on dirt bikes and would be completely uncomfortable on a full size bike.

I know where I can buy a 2005 RM85 for $500. Pretty good condition save one thing - there is a crack in the threads around the oil drain.

Anyone have any success in repairing such a crack. The guy that has the bike is honest and he says it barely leaked until he epoxyed it and now it doesn't.

I don't expect the epoxy to hold.

Drill it out and put in a larger drain bolt?

Buy a new (used) case?

Might this work?

http://durafix.com/

Or this?

http://www.cgenterprises.com/drain_plugs_oversize_repair.htm

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
Shoot, for a $500 bike, just pull the clutch cover off and lay the bike on its side when it's time to change the oil ;)

Not related to the repair question, but are you sure an RM85 is a good choice? While the size might be great, those hyper ankle biter mincycles can have a bad attitude, and may scare off a beginning rider.

JMHO.

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
I understand guys. . . I've owned or family has owned XRs, CRs, RMs, the current YZ250f and KTM 200, street bikes, etc . . .

Mom's got an XR80 that can be used for beginning training. Wife's too big for it long term. She's probably too big for the RM85, as well, but at least it has better suspension than an XR/TTR.

Peaky power, I know, but it's a newer bike for $500. If she doesn't like it, I can always sell it and likely get my money back (or more).

I just need advice on repairing the crack.

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
I forgot the KDX 400 dad had and the KDX200 and KX250 my brother had. . .

XR75 and XR100 I had - we sold it and ended up buying it back 10 years later for my brother.

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008
I'd buy it. A good epoxy job will hold that leak for a long time. You could always have it welded too, if you felt like going to the trouble.